Boca Juniors (Club Atlético Boca Juniors)

It is almost impossible to write the history of Argentine club football (soccer) without mentioning Boca Juniors. Argentina's most successful club, by most accounts, was founded in 1905. It has its headquarters in La Boca, Buenos Aires.

The club has won 70 titles to date; 34 Primera División championships, 15 domestic cup trophies, and an honorary title from the Argentine Football Association following the club's successful 1925 tour of Europe. The team also has 22 international titles in its cabinet. They are the third team globally by international titles after Real Madrid and Al Ahly.

Blue and yellow Boca Juniors building


In April 1905, a group of boys initially from Italy and Greece but settling in Argentina met to form a football club. After several trials, the team they founded got promoted to Primera División following the Argentine Association's decision to increase the league teams from six to 15. Over time, the club has grown to become one of the leading teams in the country.

The club's plays in yellow and blue and the color choice comes from the Swedish flag. In 1906 representatives of the club were in the city harbor and it was decided that the colors of the flag on the next boat entering the harbor should be the club's colors, and the next boat was a Swedish boat.

Home Ground

Boca Juniors has used several grounds over its long, illustrious history. They started in Dársena Sur, near Buenos Aires port. However, they vacated in 1907 because the field did not meet the league's bare minimum requirements.

Between 1908 and 1912, the club used three grounds in the Isla Demarchi area. Between 1914 and 1915, Boca Juniors moved away from La Boca to Wilde. In 1916, the club moved to a new stadium Estadio Ministro Brin y Senguel, where they played until 1924 before moving to Brandsen and Del Crucero.

The stadium remained their home until 1938, when they moved again to their current location, the Alberto J. Armando Stadium, nicknamed La Bombonera or the Chocolate Box. La Bombonera's current sitting capacity is 54,000.


The Superclásico, a duel between Boca Juniors and River Plate (Club Atlético River Plate), another famous Argentine club, is regarded as one of the world's fiercest. It is especially notable because of the fans' passion. The chants, coloured confetti, fireworks, flags, and paper rolls once prompted The Observer, an English paper, to list the Superclásico at La Bombonera among the 50 sporting events to witness before dying.

The clubs have played each other 338 times. Boca Juniors have won 126 times; River Plate has 107 wins while 105 games have ended in draws.


The current squad comprises some of the best in the world who also represent their national teams. They include Marcos Rojo, Carlos Zambrano, Edwin Cardona, Luis Advíncula, Frank Fabra, Eduardo Salvio, and Norberto Briasco.

Over its century-old history, the club has signed many players who influenced the game in the highest ranks. Such players include Diego Maradona, Carlos Navarro Montoya, Óscar Córdoba, and Mauricio Serna among tens of other superstars.

Club Records

Martín Palermo holds the club's all-time top scorer record with 236 goals. Roberto Cherro is second with 223 goals, while Francisco Varallo is third, having netted 194 goals for the Buenos Aires club.

Roberto Mouzo, another Argentine great, holds the club's record for most appearances after 426 games. Hugo Gatti and Silvio Marzolini are second and third, respectively, after 417 and 408 games.
Joe David was born and raised in Lagos, Nigeria and writes more than good about football, preferably with a focus on African players and the success of African national teams on the football field.