25 Potential Golden Boy Award Winners 2023

The Golden Boy Award, the award for Europe's best young player, may not be as big and well-known as, for example, the Ballon d'Or, but it is an award that is growing in importance, and it also gives an indication of who are the big names of the future in football. On December 4, it is time to name the winner of the award in 2023, but the 100-name long list has already been narrowed down to 25 potential winners.

Jude Bellingham
Can anyone challenge Jude Bellingham?

Big favourite to win - Jude Bellingham

Although the list contains many names of players with huge promise, such as Germany's Jamal Musiala and Florian Wirtz, Holland's Xavi Simons and Barcelona players Alejandro Balde and their latest young star Lamine Yamal, there is one player who is massive favourite to win - England and Real Madrid's Jude Bellingham. He has already established himself as Real's big star following his move from Borussia Dortmund and even the current top scorer in La Liga. That someone other than Bellingham would win the award in 2023 is only theoretical, in practice only he can win, and this especially after the main contender Jamal Musiala has not impressed in the same way this season as last season.

All 25 remaining players who can win the Golden Boy Award in 2023

This is the list of the 25 players who can still win the award in 2023, sorted by their "Golden Boy rating" which can be found here.

Player and teamNationalityAge todayGolden Boy rating
Jude Bellingham, Real MadridEngland2099
Jamal Musiala, Bayern MünchenGermany2095,9
António Silva, BenficaPortugal1992,9
Xavi Simons, RB LeipzigNetherlands2092,1
Alejandro Balde, BarcelonaSpain1985,7
Florian Wirtz, Bayer LeverkusenGermany2084
Benjamin Sesko, RB LeipzigSlovenia2083,1
Milos Kerkez, BournemouthHungary1980,1
Giorgio Scalvini, AtalantaItaly1979,5
Lucas Gourna-Douath, SalzburgFrance2079,2
Arthur Vermeeren, Royal AntwerpBelgium1878,9
Levi Colwill, ChelseaEngland2077,2
Rasmus Højlund, Manchester UnitedDenmark2077,1
Johan Bakayoko, PSV EindhovenBelgium2077,1
Evan Ferguson, BrightonIreland1875,9
Arnau Martinez, GironaSpain2075,7
Warren Zaire-Emery, Paris Saint-GermainFrance1775,7
Arda Güler, Real MadridTurkey1874,7
Andy Diouf, LensFrance2074,2
Martin Baturina, Dinamo ZagrebCroatia2072,6
Mathys Tel, Bayern MünchenFrance1872
Bilal El Khannouss, GenkMorocco1970,4
Ousmane Diomandé, SportingIvory Coast1870,2
João Neves, BenficaPortugal1969
Lamine Yamal, BarcelonaSpain1662,6

The story behind the Golden Boy Award

The Golden Boy Award is an award given to the best young player under the age of 21 and is created by the Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport. It was created in 2003 and the first player to win the award was Dutchman Rafael van der Vaart, and last year's winner was Barcelona's Gavi. The list of winners over the years also includes names such as Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney, Kylian Mbappé and Erling Braut Haaland, just to name a few. You can see the full list of Golden Boy Award winners here.

From the beginning it was only Tuttosport that decided the winner, but now there is a public vote (which however means little in the context), but above all there are 11 major European sports and news magazines that have a vote. In addition to Tuttosport, the list of newspapers includes Germany's Bild, France's l'Équipe, Spain's Marca and Britain's The Times, among others.
Kano Kluckfors speaks Thai but now lives in Stockholm, Sweden. Kano knows most things about the sport of football and likes to write about it. The number one team is Arsenal, a passion founded during the years he lived in London.