Santos FC (Santos Futebol Clube)

Founded in 1912, Santos competes in the Brazilian Championship A Series or the Brasileirão, the country's football league system's top tier. It was founded to give Santos, a municipality in the larger São Paulo area, a representation in football. However, it has risen to offer much more.

Front of the arena Santos FC (Santos Futebol Clube)
Nicknamed Santástico or Alvinegro Praiano, Santos is a member of the Big Twelve (G-12), a group of 12 clubs that also includes Botafogo, Corinthians, Cruzeiro, Internacional, Palmeiras and Flamengo, Fluminense, Grêmio, as well as São Paulo and Vasco da Gama.

Members of the G-12 are the country's popular and successful teams. They have won all but six seasons of the national league championship since the tournament was initiated in 1959.


The club took to the field for the first time in 1912 in a practice match against Thereza, a local club. Santista won the match 2-1 with Anacleto Ferramenta da Silva scoring the club's first-ever goal.

They took part in the Campeonato Paulista for the first time in 1913 and lost the first match 2-8. The entire season, they had a single win, a 6-3 thrashing of Corinthians. Further losses and the high cost of travel forced them to abandon the competition.

The same year, Campeonato Santista (Santos Championship) was played for the first time, and the Alvinegro earned their first title after winning all six matches.

After gaining financial stability, the club came back to the Campeonato Paulista in 1915, finishing fifth. Steadfast improvement began then and continued earnestly between 1917 and 1925.

The club won its first Paulistão in 1935. Despite the win, the club's ranks depleted following massive retirements. It was not until 1955 that the Alvinegro earned their second Paulistão. However, the excellent form was short-lived, with the club's golden era coming much later between 1956 and 1974. When Pelé debuted in the Campeonato Paulista in 1957, the club had already lifted the state championship twice. Santos won its third state title in 1958, the same year Brazil lifted the World Cup in Sweden. And in 1961 the club for the first time won the national championship, the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A. Most of the club's outstanding records were inked during this era, including Pelé's 58 goals in a season.

The period between 1974 and 1994 saw the club's performance dip again because of financial struggles. However, much of the 1990s and early 2000s was a rebuilding phase. The recurrent financial problems pushed Alvinegro Praiano to look to young talent. Neymar and Robinho joined the team during this phase leading the team to another Campeonato Paulista in 2009 and Copa do Brasil the following year.

The resurgence ended in 2013 when the club failed to win the Paulistão, which they had won the previous four consecutive years. The year also marked the end of The Second Santástico and the beginning of another rebuilding process.

Stellar Record

As mentioned, Santos participates in both Brazil's top national league Campeonato Brasileiro Série A (usually played April to November) and Campeonato Paulista Série A1 (played January to April), and the club is one of the most successful clubs in both leagues. In total, they have 8 Brasileirão titles and 22 Paulistão titles.

In 1962, it became the first club globally to win a continental treble; the Paulista, Brazilian Championships (Taça Brasil), and the Copa Libertadores. The same year, it inked another record by becoming the first club to win four competitions, the three mentioned above and the Intercontinental Cup in a single year.

Home Arena

The team started in Macuco before moving to Igreja Coração de Maria in Ana Costa Avenue. Santos moved to their current stadium Vila Belmiro in 1916.

Club Records

Pelé is the record holder for most appearances (1106 matches).
Joe David was born and raised in Lagos, Nigeria and writes more than good about football, preferably with a focus on African players and the success of African national teams on the football field.